top of page

All Bucks County State House candidates are invited to first-ever forum on education



Contact: Jean Dolan,  

Ph# 215-968-8094

June 6, 2024

All Bucks County State House candidates are invited to first-ever forum on education


·         Three nonprofit organizations will host 20 candidates Sept. 12, 2024, at Bucks County Community College (BCCC) in Newtown, PA.


·         BCCC Social Science faculty member, Bill Pezza, will moderate the live, non-partisan forum to educate voters ahead of the Nov. 5th election.


The NAACP Bucks County Branch and the League of Women Voters of Bucks County have partnered with Bucks County Community College to host a first-ever State House of Representatives Candidates Forum on the topic of education.


All 20 candidates running for the 10 state house districts in Bucks County have been invited to take part in the live, non-partisan forum, slated for 7 p.m. Thursday, September 12th, at the college’s Newtown campus.


The forum, focused on the topic of education in Pennsylvania, will be moderated by the college’s longtime social science faculty member, Bill Pezza, who will pose questions solicited from the public.


The event will be open to the public and streamed live on the college’s YouTube channel.  


“This is an exciting and extraordinary opportunity to hear Pennsylvania State Representative candidates discuss their views about education,” said Karen Downer, President of the NAACP Bucks County Branch. “Our members as well as the public in general always want to know more about who their candidates are and what their thoughts are on issues that are important to them and their families. Education is a critical topic in the Bucks County community.”  


“The mission of the League of Women Voters is to empower voters and defend democracy,” said Liz Fritsch, Candidate Forum Chair, League of Women Voters of Bucks County. “One of the most effective ways of empowering voters is to provide them with non-partisan, unbiased information about where candidates stand on the issues.  This event allows voters hear from the candidates themselves about the important issue of education.”


Kevin Antoine, the college’s Associate Vice President of External Affairs and Chief Diversity Officer, pointed out that Bucks County Community College encourages free speech and debate for all residents as part of its mission. “As the only public college in the county, Bucks County Community College believes civic engagement is fundamental to the survival of a democracy,” said Antoine. “Candidates from all backgrounds should be able to engage in dialogue without fear of reprisal from the government. Debates and public forums like these strengthen free speech and expand equal opportunity.”


The State House of Representatives Candidates Forum on education takes place in the Zlock Performing Arts Center, located on the Newtown campus of Bucks County Community College at 275 Swamp Rd., Newtown, PA. Admission and parking are free. The event will also be streamed live at starting at 7 p.m. EDT Thursday, September 12, 2024.


The NAACP Bucks County Branch, League of Women Voters of Bucks County, and Bucks County Community College urge all candidates to take this opportunity to speak directly to constituents on an issue that affects all residents of Bucks County: parents, students and taxpayers. To learn more about each candidate, visit


Voters who wish to hear directly from the candidates are urged to contact those running in their district and urge them to take part. The candidates and district boundaries are listed below.


Candidates by State House District (asterisk denotes incumbent):


·         18th: Kathleen C. Tomlinson* (R), Anand Patel (D)

·         29th: Tim Brennan* (D), Steve Mekanik (R)

·         31st: Perry Warren* (D), Bernie Sauer (R)

·         140th: Jim Prokopiak* (D), Candace Cabanas (R)

·         141st: Tina Davis* (D), Noah Boyd (R)

·         142nd: Joe Hogan* (R), Anna Payne (D)

·         143rd: Shelby Labs* (R), Eleanor Breslin (D)

·         144th: Brian Munroe* (D), Daniel J. McPhillips (R)

·         145th: Craig Staats* (R), Vera Cole (D)

·         178th: Kristin Marcell* (R); Emma Rosenthal (D)

District Boundaries (as of 2022 redistricting):


·         18th: Bensalem Township and Hulmeville Borough

·         29th: Buckingham, Doylestown, and Solebury Townships; Chalfont, Doylestown, New Britain, and New Hope Boroughs

·         31st:  Lower Makefield, Newtown, and Upper Makefield Townships; Newtown and Yardley Boroughs

·         140th: Falls and Middletown (part) Townships; Morrisville and Tullytown Boroughs

·         141st: Bristol Township and Bristol Borough

·         142nd: Lower Southampton, Middletown (part), and Northampton (part), Townships; Langhorne, Langhorne Manor, and Penndel Boroughs

·         143rd: Bedminster, Hilltown, New Britain (part), Plumstead, and Tinicum Townships; Dublin, Perkasie, Sellersville, and Silverdale Boroughs  

·         144th: New Britain (part), Warminster, and Warrington Townships; Ivyland Borough

·         145th: Bridgeton, Durham, East Rockhill, Haycock, Milford, Nockamixon, Richland, Springfield, and West Rockhill Townships; Quakertown, Richlandtown, Riegelsville, Telford (Bucks County portion) and Trumbauersville Boroughs  

·         178th: Northampton (part), Upper Southampton, Warwick, and Wrightstown Townships


# # #


bottom of page